PUB: Entries Open: The Nigeria Prize for Literature 2013 > Writers Afrika

Entries Open:
The Nigeria Prize for Literature 2013

Deadline: 12 April 2013

Entries are hereby invited for The Nigeria Prize for Literature. The yearly literary prize is endowed by Nigeria LNG Limited [NLNG] to honour the author of the best book by a Nigerian within the last four years.

The prize rotates among four literary genres - prose fiction, poetry, drama and children’s literature. This year, the competition is for Poetry. The competition is open only to published works by Nigerian writers irrespective of place of residence. It carries a reward of $100,000.


  • Six copies of the entry and, if available, an e-copy, together with evidence of Nigerian citizenship (photocopy of Nigerian passport or National identity card), may be submitted either by authors or publishers, in accordance with the genres in competition.

  • Books should be submitted to Nigeria LNG Limited’s External Relations Division, promoters of the prize, by the stipulated deadline. Failure to meet the stated conditions will lead to disqualification of the entry.

  • No book published before January, 2010 will be accepted.

  • Complete contact information, including full postal address and/or e-mail(s), phone number(s) and other relevant contact information should accompany each submission.

  • An author in any competition will enter only one published work. Mere manuscripts will not be considered. No book previously submitted for this competition may be re-submitted at a later date, even if major revisions have been made or a new edition published.

  • The prize will be awarded for no other reason than excellence.

  • A panel of judges shall be appointed for The Nigeria Prize for Literature by the Advisory Board for Literature.
  • The appointment of judges shall be done to reflect the genre in competition for the year. Persons appointed as judges are those who have wide experience, peer recognition, good public image, and command respect nationally and internationally.
  • Professor Romanus Egudu - Chairman

  • Professor Abiodun Omolara Ogundipe - Member

  • Dr. Andrew Abah - Member

  • International Consultant

  • Professor Kofi Anyidoho

  • Advisory Board

  • Professor Emeritus Ayo Banjo - Chairman

  • Dr. Jerry Agada - Member

  • Professor Ben Elugbe - Member


To encourage literary criticism, the Advisory Board for Literature will also reward one critic with not less than N1,000,000.

Since the aim is to promote Nigerian literature in the world, the prize will be open to literary critics from all over the world. Special considerations shall be given to critical essays on new writing in Nigerian Literature.
Contestants shall send in at least three or more critical essays published in a major scholarly journal. Such a journal shall have proven track record of dedication to excellence and shall have an international circulation.
No critical essay previously submitted for this competition may be considered at a later date, even if major revisions of it have been made. Mere manuscripts will not be considered. Entries not submitted by the deadline and according to stated conditions shall not be considered. Only entries published in the year of the competition or in the three years before then shall be considered.

No member of the Advisory Boards or Panels of Judges can enter their essay(s) for the literary criticism award in the year they are serving.


The Nigeria Prize for Literature
External Relations Division
Nigeria LNG Limited
INTELS Aba Road Estate
Km 16, Aba Expressway
P.M.B 5660, Port Harcourt
Rivers State, Nigeria.

The Nigeria Prize for Literature
External Relations Division
Heron House
10 Dean Farrar Street


For submissions: see the above addresses