1 response
How could you not like this rendition of "Pirate Jenny" ? Nina Simone, had seen the unspeakable or what most black people have been taught to keep these black secrets to your self...This song form reveals the hurt, pain of a people having to see and witness degradation first hand/first person of the total disrespect for another human being...

I bear witness to these ungodly acts...I worked for a telephone company and maybe 14 years ago I was the janitor and up on the 3rd floor and heard a commotion on the ground level across from tobacco warehouses and I look down from where I was at and in a small alley I saw a group of young white laughing and they had made a circle around an old black man that I had seen before, he stayed in the old abandon tobacco warehouse and he was a drunk...they form a circle and took turns spitting at him and I actually yelled from the third floor and one of them yelled back fuck you...and I ran down stairs and told one of the guys in the CO office and to my surprise he said "I don't give a dam what they doing out there" and I went out by myself in the alleyway they disperse and had left him lying there...

That really vexed the hell out of me, racist God-D€££ bastards would do some shit like that...and their parents owned the businesses on the opposite side of the building...and the brother I told what was happening was in Vietnam and he told me he didn't give a dam what they were doing...I mean what's happening with us we don't even give a dam when stuff like this goes down...

How many countless times you or anyone for that matter have seen the ungodly ? A black woman mopping, scrubbing floors in a building or crummy old hotel and the locals show in your face contempt and with "Pirate Jenny" it was the same with the townspeople's utter racist remarks around her, laugh/get your laugh off...the inequality of certain patrons laughing as this woman toils away not too far remove from the slavery system...

In this post-racial society make believe realm, we still waiting on the mythological subconscious liberation ship and as Nina sang with undertones about the black freighter symbolizing the coming of the black revolution...Well the black revolution must have come and gone...Peace and Blessings